Own Source Revenue & Model revenue Training

Participants at the ongoing training on Own-source revenue and model revenue laws for county assembly members from Lamu-County Updates/Briefings The Taita Taveta County Government TANA RIVER COUNTY County Assembly of Tana River Embu County Government Kiambu County Assembly Nyeri County Assembly Nandi County Government Garissa County Government Press Unit

  • For county governments, 6 revenue streams are likely to yield majority revenue: Single Business Permits, Property rates, Business permits, Parking fees, Outdoor advertising & Liquor licensing” James Katule Director Fiscal Affairs speaking at the training for MCAs
  • The approved 3rd basis provides that 50 percent of the equitable share be shared among the counties based on FY2019/2020 allocation ratios. The remaining 50 percent be shared based on the formula as approved by Parliament” Lineth Oyugi Director Economic Affairs 
  • “Property rates are an exclusive county tax, founded on land valuations prepared under the Valuation for Rating Act at the national level” Sheila Yieke, Legal Director speaking on Model County Rating Laws at the Coastal MCA training